Skip to content ↓

Student Care during COVID-19

During the COVID-19 pandemic it is really important that students remain safe.  If you have any issues regarding the safety or wellbeing of a student please contact the school using the following email address: safeguarding@brookeweston.org.

Student Care and Inclusion

Student Care is a place where safety and wellbeing is at the heart of everything we do. The team work closely with tutors to extend the outstanding provision and provide students with advice and guidance for any worries or concerns students have, however big or small you feel they may be.

Covid-19 / Coronavirus Resources

BPS guidance - https://www.bps.org.uk/news-and-policy/talking-children-about-coronavirus

BACP guidance around managing anxiety - https://www.bacp.co.uk/news/news-from-bacp/2020/28-february-coronavirus-anxiety-how-to-cope-if-you-re-feeling-anxious-about-the-outbreak/

Anna Freud links - Supporting schools & colleges: A guide to supporting the mental health and wellbeing of pupils and students during periods of disruption There are also three videos, one for school staff, one for parents and one for children and young people which may be useful.

Liverpool CAMHS resource - https://wakelet.com/wake/564d7bc8-4bc9-462f-a9e1-2deb03150c3

National Autistic Society – guidance and helpline for parents’, young people and staff: https://www.autism.org.uk/services/nas-schools/vanguard/news/2020/march/coronavirus-(covid-19)-advice.aspx

Mencap - Easy Read guide to Coronavirus: https://www.mencap.org.uk/sites/default/files/2020-03/Information%20about%20Coronavirus%20ER%20SS2.pdf

Place2Be – Guide to helping parents answer questions from their children and to support family wellbeing: https://www.place2be.org.uk/about-us/news-and-blogs/2020/march/coronavirus-information-for-children/

Young Minds - Talking to your child about Coronavirus and 10 tips from their Parents Helpline to support family wellbeing: https://youngminds.org.uk/blog/talking-to-your-child-about-coronavirus/

Carers UK - Guidance for carers: https://www.carersuk.org/help-and-advice/health/looking-after-your-health/coronavirus-covid-19

Covibook – an interactive resource designed to support and reassure children aged 7 and under, designed to help children explain and draw the emotions that they might be experiencing during the pandemic: https://www.mindheart.co/descargables

Amaze - information pack for parents https://amazesussex.org.uk/faqs-about-the-coronavirus-for-parent-carers-of-children-with-send-brighton-hove/

Public Health England have produced an easy read version of their Advice on the coronavirus for places of education.  You can download it here: https://www.publichealth.hscni.net

Designated Safeguarding Leads

Mrs Kate Jeyes

Senior Assistant Principal  
Lead DSL
safeguarding@brookeweston.org

Mrs Rebecca Waterson

Senior Vice Principal  
Student Care Lead KS4

Deputy DSL 
safeguarding@brookeweston.org

Mrs Nina Smith

Vice Principal | Director of 6th Form 
Attendance & Student Care
Deputy DSL
safeguarding@brookeweston.org

Mrs Angeline Annable

Senior Assistant Principal
Deputy DSL
aannable@brookeweston.org

Mr David Clarke

KS5 Student Care 
Deputy Director of 6th Form
Deputy DSL
dclarke@brookeweston.org

Mrs Vicky Hilling

KS3 & KS4 Student Support
Deputy DSL
vhilling@brookeweston.org

Mr Stuart Littlejohn

KS3 Student Support
Deputy DSL
slittlejohn@brookeweston.org

 

 

Sara Mangan

Student Support Officer
Deputy DSL
smangan@brookeweston.org

 

 

 

 

Charlie Simcoe

Student Support Officer
Deputy DSL
csimcoe@brookeweston.org

 

The SEND Team

Angeline Annable

Senior Assistant Principal
SENDCo
aannable@brookeweston.org

Hilary Payne

Student Support
hpayne@brookeweston.org

Victoria Harradine

Student Support
vharradine@brookeweston.org

Clare Tait

Student Support
ctait@brookeweston.org

Andrea Lupton

Student Support
alupton@brookeweston.org

 
 
Emma Baxter

Student Support
ebaxter@brookeweston.org

Nicola Talbot

Student Support
ntalbot@brookeweston.org

Sara Billam

Student Support
sbillam@brookeweston.org

Tracey Slattery

Student Support
tslattery@brookeweston.org

Verica Lazarevic

Student Support
vlazarevic@brookeweston.org

   

 

Key Stage 3 Student Care Team

Wanda Gerard

KS3 Student Care Lead
Deputy DSL
wgerard@brookeweston.org

Vicky Hilling

KS3 & KS4 Student Support
Deputy DSL
vhilling@brookeweston.org

Mrs Camilla Kerr

Year7 and Transition Lead
Deputy DSL
ckerr@brookeweston.org

Mr Stuart Littlejohn

KS3 Student Support
Deputy DSL
slittlejohn@brookeweston.org

 

 

Key Stage 4 Student Care Team

Mrs Rebecca Waterson

Senior Vice Principal  
Student Care Lead KS4
Deputy DSL
 
safeguarding@brookeweston.org

Mrs Roisin Fernando

Assistant Principal / Year11 Lead
Deputy DSL (maternity leave)
rfernando@brookeweston.org

Mrs Vicky Hilling

KS3 & KS4 Student Support
Deputy DSL
vhilling@brookeweston.org

Sara Mangan

Student Support Officer
Deputy DSL
smangan@brookeweston.org

Charlie Simcoe

Student Support Officer
Deputy DSL
csimcoe@brookeweston.org

 

Key Stage 5 Student Care Team

Nina Smith

Senior Vice Principal  
Deputy DSL
safeguarding@brookeweston.org

Caity Brennan


Director of 6th form
cbrennan@brookeweston.org

David Clarke

Deputy Director of 6th form
Deputy DSL
dclarke@brookeweston.org

Mandy Cheatley

Student Support Officer
mcheatley@brookeweston.org

 
 

Get in touch

Send a message