Skip to content ↓

English and Media Department

We are proud to be a department which encourages and supports all pupils to achieve and exceed their aspirations through offering opportunities across a range of disciplines: Literature, Language and Media Studies. As a team, we are driven by the pursuit of creating an ever-evolving curriculum which allows staff to deliver inspiring lessons which are both engaging and culturally relevant for our young people.

For detailed information on specifications refer to the Key Stage 4 or Key Stage 5 prospectus.

All schemes of work, particularly those for KS3, foster a culture of challenge through the choice of literary texts such as Animal Farm, Our Day Out, Macbeth and The Sign of Four. In addition, we encourage all students to expand their breadth through units on Gothic and Dystopian literature – examining the origins and development of key literary genres that have shaped the last century. Through our vision to ensure that pupils use literary texts to help interrogate and reflect on the world around them, we have also introduced a number of new texts to engage with cultural diversity, most notably The Hate you Give by Angie Thomas.

All of these skills ensure that students are rigorously prepared for the new GCSEs in Language, Literature and Media Studies with further opportunities to pursue these subjects at A-Level. We look forward to welcoming you to the department and hope to inspire in you the same passion that we all have for our subject.

English and Media Intent

We are driven by the pursuit of creating an ever-evolving curriculum which allows staff to deliver inspiring lessons which are both engaging and culturally relevant for our young people.

The Team

Abi Hibbins

Head of English and Media
ahibbins@brookeweston.org

Beth Dunn

Teacher of English
bdunn@brookeweston.org

Lauren Fitzjohn

Teacher of English and Literacy Lead
lfitzjohn@brookeweston.org

Jamie Jones

Teacher of English and Media
jjones@brookeweston.org

Rebecca Jones

Teacher of English
rjones@brookeweston.org

Lewis Kernaghan

Teacher of English and Media Lead
lkernaghan@brookeweston.org

Rebecca Liquorish

Teacher of English and KS3 Lead
rliquorish@brookeweston.org

Frankie Macleod

Teacher of English and Media
fmacleod@brookeweston.org

Leah Patterson

Teacher of English
lpatterson@brookeweston.org

Joanna Rodger

Teacher of English
jrodger@brookeweston.org

Matthew Rodger

Teacher of English and Media
mrodger@brookeweston.org

For detailed information regarding the curriculum refer to documents below. 

Get in touch

Send a message