Skip to content ↓

Humanities Department

The humanities are traditional subjects which are held in high regard as academic disciplines and are therefore looked upon very favourably by both employers and universities.

For detailed information on specifications refer to the Key Stage 4 or Key Stage 5 prospectus.

The humanities department offers GCSEs in Geography, History and religious studies. These subjects develop our knowledge and understanding of human behaviour and its consequences for others and the world we live in. They teach us to appreciate different cultures and beliefs and to understand the world around us. In addition, religious studies may be taken as an optional subject in which you will consider the beliefs and practises of two religions, investigate ethical and philosophical issues and gain knowledge and understanding to make your own informed decisions.

The Humanities department offers a range of humanities and social science subjects at GCE A Level. The A Level subjects taught in the department are traditional subjects which are held in high regard as academic disciplines and are, therefore, looked upon very favourably by both employers and universities. All Humanities subjects focus on human behaviour and experience and through studying them you will gain knowledge and understanding of different cultures and beliefs and a better understanding of current world issues. They also develop essential study skills, such as critical and creative thinking, debating and evaluating

Humanities Intent

Through studying a humanities subject, you will be learning how to think creatively and critically, to reason and to ask questions, providing you with essential skills that may be applied in other subjects and in everyday life. 

Enrichment Opportunities

The GCSE Geography students are required to undertake two geographical enquiries, each of which must include the use of primary data, collected as part of a fieldwork exercise. Fieldwork takes place outside of the classroom and on two separate occasions. The cost of the field trips vary depending on the distance to the location and duration of the stay (i.e. there is a small charge for fuel and any overnight stays will incur an additional cost). GCSE History students are not required to complete any field work, however students will have the opportunity to see the ‘Doctors show’ production as part of their study of ‘Britain: Health and the people: c1000 to the present day’. Visits to local places of worship and visits from external speakers often forms part of the Religious Studies course.

The Team

Kevin Glesinger

Head of Humanities
kglesinger@brookeweston.org

Carlien Fourie

Teacher of Humanities
cfourie@brookeweston.org

Lewis Holdcroft

Teacher of History and Humanities
lholdcroft@brookeweston.org

Sean Houghton

Director of Humanities for Trust
shoughton@brookeweston.org

Adam Marriott

Teacher of Humanities and BPE/CPD Lead
amarriott@brookeweston.org

Paul Murray

Teacher of Humanities and Sociology
pmurray@brookeweston.org

Adelle Northern

Teacher of Humanities and History Lead
anorthern@brookeweston.org

Natalie Polley

Teacher of Humanities and History
npolley@brookeweston.org

Eloise Scarth

Teacher of Humanities and Geography
escarth@brookeweston.org

Christine Seward

Teacher of Humanities and Social Science Lead
cseward@brookeweston.org

Juliette Smith

Teacher of Humanities and Geography
jsmith@brookeweston.org 

Rebecca Waterson

Teacher of Humanities
rwaterson@brookeweston.org

For detailed information regarding the curriculum refer to documents below. 

Get in touch

Send a message