Skip to content ↓

Science Department

We cannot escape the fact that Science is a necessary part of our everyday lives. It studies the things that are happening around and within us and looks for evidence to explain ideas. Advances in technology and science are transforming our world at an incredible pace from the food that we eat, the medicines we take and the clothes that we wear.

For detailed information on specifications refer to the Key Stage 4 or Key Stage 5 prospectus.

The practicals conducted develop our students’ investigative skills and confidence in handling chemicals, performing dissections and the utilisation of equipment such as spectroscopes. Students are encouraged to take ownership over their learning by teachers promoting independence, thus allowing them to branch out in their own direction once the core content is understood. We are proud of our involvement within the community though our student Science Ambassadors and our links within industry and higher education enables opportunities beyond the curriculum. We are fortunate that our school is situated within a Site of Special Scientific Interest (SSSI) which enables us to study the diversity of life in the natural setting.

We aim to stimulate our students’ innate curiosity through our bespoke curriculum at all key stages emphasising a practical and stimulating curriculum which makes clear links to modern contexts.

Accolades
  • Key stage 4 Science Ambassadors who represent the academy within the local primary schools
  • Biology, Chemistry and Physics in action events at Warwick University
  • Participation in the Biology and Chemistry Olympiad
  • Operating theatre live – dissection based surgical experience
  • STEM links with the University of Northampton
  • Biology dissection evening to inspire a love of Biology
  • Run Adam Whitaker Astronomy event
  • Participation in ‘Super Physics 2018: supported by the IOP and the Ogden Trust’

Science Intent

In studying Science we facilitate the development of both powerful and procedural knowledge in order to develop learners that are able to  problem solve and make informed decisions in many areas of life; how to analyse, to debate using educated opinions, to interpret, evaluate and to nurture an enquiring mind through practical endeavours. It is essential to develop an understanding of the world around us, assembled by appreciation of previous theories and how they have led to modern scientific discoveries. Our goal is to raise analytical, innovative thinkers that are able to enhance the way we live, not only producing the scientists of the future but to also empower students to make informed choices in their lives and enable them to take part in key debates and challenges confronting society today.

The Team

Adam Tan

Head of Science 

atan@brookeweston.org

Angeline Annable

Senior Assistant Principal

Teacher of Science

aannable@brookeweston.org

Kate Jeyes

Vice Principal

Teacher of Science

kjeyes@brookeweston.org

Daniel Hawksley

Second in Department and Head of Biology

dhawksley@brookeweston.org

Jinny Bell

Head of Physics
jbell2@brookeweston.org

Louise Hegarty

Teacher of Science

lhegarty@brookeweston.org

Louise Hull

Head of Chemistry 

lhull@brookeweston.org

Sarah Kemp

Teacher of Science

skemp@brookeweston.org

Joshua Pape

Teacher of Science

jpape@brookeweston.org

Maliha Sheikh

Teacher of Science

msheikh@brookeweston.org

Danielle Budgen

Teacher of Science

dbudgen@brookeweston.org

Yannick Withoos

Teacher of Science

YWithoos@brookeweston.org  

Josh Bell

Teacher of Science

Jbell1@brookeweston.org

Get in touch

Send a message